Alfredo Gomez wins Red Bull Hare Scramble in Austrian open-pit mine

This is the Spaniard’s second win at the Red Bull Hare Scramble, held during the 2017 Erzbergrodeo

Alfredo Gomez holds up the trophy he won at the Erzbergrodeo.

Winner Alfredo Gomez poses for a portrait during the Red Bull Hare Scramble 2017 in Eisenerz, Austria, on June 18, 2017. — Philip Platzer/Red Bull Content Pool photo

They were 500 riders on the start line on Sunday, but only 25 managed to finish the motorcycle event within the four-hour time window. Alfredo Gomez came out on top, racing in a record time of just two hours and 17 seconds.

Every year, the Red Bull Hare Scramble puts the world’s best riders to the test like no other race on the Enduro calendar. It offers steep climbs, scree fields and forest stages; all paced by infamous Machine, Bathtub, Carl’s Dinner, Green Hell and Dynamite sections.

Shortly after the start, three-time Erzberg winner Jonny Walker (GBR) took the lead ahead of Wade Young (RSA), Cody Webb (USA) and Billy Bolt (GBR). But Gomez quickly appeared on Walker’s heels followed by Webb and Bolt, while Young fell back into fifth.

At the Carl‘s Dinner section, Gomez finally overtook Walker. Last year’s winner Graham Jarvis (GBR) also came back charging, leaving Walker in his dust. But Gomez kept on building his lead. Jarvis tried to defend his title, but Gomez was just too strong and after two hours and 17 minutes, the Spaniard reached the Erzberg Rodeo Arena in first. The chequered flag was waved, crowds cheered, and Gomez enjoyed his second triumph here, two years after his first win in 2015.

“The test rides really paid off—I am super happy about my win!” said Gomez. “I’d like to dedicate this win to my parents, who sadly couldn’t be here because my mother had had an accident.”

Thanks to a sensational comeback, Jarvis crossed the line in second place three minutes and 22 seconds later. Webb took third to complete the podium. 

“The race turned out differently than I’d expected,” said Webb. “I had real problems with my arms, since they were cramping up. And Alfredo was better, pure and simple. That’s why I am incredibly happy that the race turned out for me as well as it did!”

Final Standings*

  • Alfredo Gomez (ESP) 02:17:06
  • Graham Jarvis (GBR) +00:03:22
  • Cody Webb (USA) +00:05:04
  • Wade Young (RSA) +00:09:31
  • Jonny Walker (GBR) +00:10:41
  • Paul Bolton (GBR) +00:15:53
  • Billy Bolt (GBR) +00:18:24
  • Manuel Lettenbichler (GER) +00:24:47
  • Mario Roman (ESP) +00:30:20
  • Travis Teasdale (GBR) +00:34:06

*These results are not yet official and subject to change. For further information, please visit

Related Articles

South Racing/Can-Am driver Bruno Varela and co-pilot Gustavo Gugelmin won the 2018
Afriquia Merzouga Rally (Dakar series) in Northern Africa in their innovative Can-Am Maverick X3 X rs Turbo R side-by-side vehicle.
RidersWest Insider South racing Can-Am Maverick X3 team wins Afriquia Merzouga Rally

The South Racing / Can-Am team of Bruno Varela and Gustavo Gugelmin won the grueling, five-day Afriquia Merzouga Rally.

The BC government is taking a tougher stance in regards to off-road vehicle usage and the prevention of wildfires.
RidersWest Insider Tougher off-road vehicle rules and new fines to reduce wildfire risks

The British Columbia government has increased some wildfire-related penalties up to $100,000.

The 2019 Can-Am Maverick Sport family of high-performance side-by-side vehicles offers exceptional handling and control.
RidersWest Insider New Can-Am Maverick Sport side-by-side vehicles bring thrilling performance to 60-inch trail class

The two new packages – a base and a DPS – feature cutting-edge design, performance-driven innovation, and award-winning Can-Am Maverick heritage.

View all RidersWest Insider articles